Blues Rock
35 - 0169147
  • Artist: Taylor, Otis
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 0169147
  • Release Date: 24.02.2017
  • Label: inakustik
  • Genre: Blues Rock
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:

Fantasizing About Being Black


To date Otis Taylor has received 20 Blues Music Award (BMA) nominations.

Fantasizing About Being Black, is a stark and poetic lesson on the historical trauma of the African American experience, from the voyages of slave ships to the Mississippi Delta. Taylor simultaneously travels back in time while moving forward as a musical artist. Blending his unique songwriting and the compelling musical approach that he calls trance blues, the recording inspires with stories of the enduring human spirit, letting its hypnotic sound as well as Taylor’s lyrics tell a story of continuing struggle.

Musically, Otis Taylor produces a unique sound that draws on African American culture but is innovative in the instrumentation and arrangement. Typical for the artist, he’s found a unique way of expressing ideas in a work that honors musical traditions yet moves the genre forward in a creative mix that has an intellectual and emotional impact.


Otis Taylor – Vocals, Guitar, Banjo

Brandon Niederauer - Guitar

Jerry Douglas – Koa Wood Lap Guitar

Anne Harris – Violin

Ron Miles – Cornet

Todd Edmunds – Bass

Larry Thompson – Drums

  • Twelve String Mile
  • Walk On Water
  • Banjo Bam Bam
  • Hand On Your Stomach
  • Jump Jelly Belly
  • Tripping On This
  • D to E Blues
  • Jump Out Of Line
  • Just Want To Live With You Baby
  • Roll Down The Hill
  • Jump To Mexico