Chamber Music
35 - 0491012
  • Composer: Cras / Bach / Leroux / Ravel / Debussy /+
  • Artist: Shen, Chen / Mangold, Anton
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 0491012
  • Release Date: 20.09.2019
  • Label: Doctor Heart Music
  • Genre: Chamber Music
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:

Suite en Duo


The Duo was formed in 2014 and released their first album „Suite en Duo“ (Dr Heart Music) in 2019.

They are mainly playing impressionistic french chamber music like the title track „Suite en Duo“ by Jean Cras or „Bilitis“ (arranged for harp and flute) by Claude Debussy. The famous Sonata in B minor by J.S. Bach is also adapted for harp and flute as well as the „Deux Romances“ by Xavier Leroux. The last piece „Nocturne“ written by J.L. Tolou in collaboration with J. Nadermann again shows virtuosity by both Shen and Mangold and is a good example of classical french music from the early 19th century.

As a solo piece Mangold is playing Ravels „Prélude in A-moll“ and „Pavane pour une infante défunte“. Shen chooses „Air de Bénigne de Bacilly“ by Jaques-Martin Hotteterre, a piece for solo transverse flute.

„What these two exceptional musicians (…) are doing is great art.“

„(…) brilliant technical sophistication and a multifaceted composition.“

(Mainpost 14.1.2018)

  • Suite en Duo: I Préambule
  • Suite en Duo: II Modéré
  • Suite en Duo: III Assez lent
  • Suite en Duo: IV Danse à onze temps
  • Flute Sonata in B Minor BWV 1030: I Andante
  • Flute Sonata in B Minor BWV 1030: II Largo e dollce
  • Flute Sonata in B Minor BWV 1030: III Presto
  • Flute Sonata in B Minor BWV 1030: IV Allegro
  • Première Romance, Andante espressivo
  • Deuxième Romance, Allegro vivo
  • Prélude, M.65 (Mangold, Anton)
  • Pavane pour une infante défunte, M.19 (Mangold, Anton)
  • Air de Bénigne de Bacilly (Shen, Chen)
  • Bilitis Six épigraphes antiques: I Pour invoquer Pan, dieu du vent d’été
  • Bilitis Six épigraphes antiques: II Pour un tombeau sans nom
  • Bilitis Six épigraphes antiques: III Pour que la nuit soit propice
  • Bilitis Six épigraphes antiques: IV Pour la danseuse aux crotales
  • Bilitis Six épigraphes antiques: V Pour l’Égyptienne
  • Bilitis Six épigraphes antiques: VI Pour remercier la pluie au matin
  • Nocturne pour Harpe et Flûte: I Larghetto sostenuto
  • Nocturne pour Harpe et Flûte: II Andante poco Allegretto
  • Nocturne pour Harpe et Flûte: III Allegro ma non troppo